Dreamcricket USA News

USA Cricket: UPenn defeats Harvard in ACC Ivy League Championship

2013 Nov 06 by DreamCricket USA

UPenn defeated Harvard to win the American College Cricket Ivy League Championship. UPenn will be presented with the Colin M Jodah Trophy in March 2014 after the ACC National Finals.

Now, you can get all the USA Cricket updates via Facebook. Also follow us on Twitter via @dreamcricket

UPenn defeated Harvard to win the American College Cricket Ivy League Championship.  UPenn will be presented with the Colin M Jodah Trophy in March 2014 after the ACC National Finals.  The trophy is named to honor Colin M Jodah, a passionate cricket fan who is believed to be America's first visually impaired cricketer.  Colin lived a life of grit and determination and contributed greatly to the ACC until his death in January 2013.

UPenn Quakers steamrolled Cornell Bears on the way to the finals thanks to 38 not out by Ruben Abraham and 37 not out by Gavish Sharma, who played as an alum.  Gavish also took 2 for 7 in the two overs that he bowled earning him the MVP award.

In the match between Harvard and Princeton, Princeton posted 107 in their 20 overs with Vaidhy Murti playing a captain's inning of 24 from 23 balls.  Naman Jain scored 34.  Bowling for Harvard, Simon Lock took 2 for 23 and Danny Yetman took 2 for 17.  In the chase, openers Tyrel Dat and Manik Kuchroo put on 44 giving Harvard a great start.  After their partnership was broken, Harvard's chase unravelled until Danny Yetman took the driving seat with a match-winning knock of 18 not out. 

Having won their preliminary matches convincingly, UPenn and Harvard marched into the final of the Colin M Jodah Trophy held at Philadelphia Cricket Club on September 28, 2013.   In the final, once again, Ruben Abraham (78 off 59 balls) showed the way for UPenn with a plethora of exquisite shots while his partner Gavish Sharma impressed yet again with 33.  Past president Jay Dave contributed 18 and UPenn set a massive total of 182 for 5 for Harvard.  Bowling for Harvard, Manik Kuchroo took 3 wickets for 35 runs. Harvard never threatened the UPenn total, with only Sher Tareen getting 30 with 3 fours in a score of 86 all out.  Ruben Abraham was declared the Finals MVP and also the Ivy League Championship MVP.

Article and Picture - Courtesy Lloyd Jodah/AmericanCollegeCricket.com

More photos can be found here -