USA Cricket Awards

2015 DreamCricket New Inning Foundation Batsman of the Year - Nicholas Standford

2016 Oct 24 by DreamCricket USA

For the sixth consecutive year, is recognizing USA’s standout performers at the international level with the New Inning Foundation USA Cricket Awards.

Now, you can get all the USA Cricket updates via Facebook. Also follow us on Twitter via @dreamcricket

By Peter Della Penna

For the sixth consecutive year, is recognizing USA’s standout performers at the international level with the New Inning Foundation USA Cricket Awards.

The 2015 New Inning Foundation Batsman of the Year is Nicholas Standford. The big-hitting middle-order player from New York joins previous winners Aditya Thyagarajan, Sushil Nadkarni, Steven Taylor and Fahad Babar in claiming the honor.

Standford was not USA’s leading scorer on the year, but a number of notable performances made him the most impactful batsman the national team had in 2015. In particular, Standford’s three Man of the Match performances were the most for any USA player on the year. 

His first such performance came against Suriname when he posted a career-best 64 not out after entering in the second over at 6 for 2 to top-score for USA in an eight-wicket win. He saved his next two feature performances for a pair of ODI nations as Standford helped USA slay a top-six Associate on back-to-back days. 

First came his unbeaten 40 off 25 balls against Hong Kong in which he confidently steered USA’s chase in an eventual seven-wicket win. A standout sequence took place in the 17th over, with USA needing 22 to win, when he slammed a couple of sixes off Hong Kong’s biggest pace threat Irfan Ahmed to deflate Hong Kong. 

A day later, he propelled USA with another unbeaten 40 against Papua New Guinea, this time in just 17 deliveries. Coming in with just four overs to go, Standford gave the USA innings desperately needed momentum heading into the innings break, which the bowling unit seized on in an eventual 17-run win. At age 28 having only made his USA debut in 2013, Standford has yet to hit his prime years but his performances in 2015 show the promise he holds for the future of the national team. 

In recognition of his achievement, Standford will receive a plaque as well as a $200 Pavillion Shop gift certificate sponsored by New Inning Foundation. 

About New Inning Foundation Cricket Awards:

Every year for six years now, DreamCricket has presented the USA Cricket awards recognizing standout performers in the prior year.  For 2016, the awards are once again being presented by the New Inning Foundation, an organization that has supported cricketing excellence since its founding in 2011.  

To be a part of the select group of players who played for USA in international competition is a remarkable achievement, the award winners are chosen as a way to pay tribute to all the hard work and sacrifices they make on the way to being America’s most valuable cricket ambassadors. 

Speaking about the awards, Ram Varadarajan, the founder and trustee of New Inning Foundation said, “Now in their sixth year, the New Inning Awards have been celebrating the passion, excellence and dedication of US cricketers. It is our duty to recognize the tremendous talent and positive contributions of the individuals who have continued to put cricket on the map in America.  In keeping with the awards tradition, we are also honoring off-field contributions in the world of cricket. Thanks to for this very thoughtful initiative."

Kranthi Bayya, CEO of said, "Presenting the USA Cricket Awards is one of the ways in which we have been giving back to the American cricket community.  Thanks again to Ram Varadarajan and his New Inning Foundation for supporting the awards from the very beginning."

Each player award will comprise of a plaque and a PavilionShop gift certificate worth $200 sponsored by New Inning Foundation.  In addition to the player awards, there will be a series of other awards to recognize significant contributions made off the field including the Shekhs Aravind Spirit of Cricket Award, the Bart King Lifetime Achievement Award, the Best USA Cricket Photo Award, the Best League Award and the Best Ground Award.   

Picture Credit: ICC