USA Cricket Awards

2015 DreamCricket New Inning Foundation Bowler of the Year - Timil Patel

2016 Oct 26 by DreamCricket USA

For the sixth consecutive year, is recognizing USA’s standout performers at the international level with the New Inning Foundation USA Cricket Awards.

For the sixth consecutive year, is recognizing USA’s standout performers at the international level with the New Inning Foundation USA Cricket Awards.

The 2015 New Inning Foundation Bowler of the Year is Timil Patel. The legspinner joins past winners Usman Shuja, Elmore Hutchinson, Muhammad Ghous, Salman Ahmad and Kevin Darlington. 

Since making his debut for USA in 2012, Patel has been a prolific wicket-taker for USA. He demonstrated that once again in 2015, finishing as the leading wicket-taker on the year for the national team. 

It began at the ICC Americas Division One Twenty20 championship in Indianapolis where Patel was a handful for each team USA came up against. He finished atop the wickets list at the tournament with 15 wickets in six games, including a USA career-best haul of 4 for 13 against Suriname. 

Patel carried over that form into Ireland for the team’s participation in the World T20 Qualifier. Despite sometimes cool conditions that can make gripping the ball difficult for spin bowlers, Patel gave notice that the weather would not phase him when he took 4 for 19 in a warm-up match against Northwest Warriors provincial side on the eve of the tournament. 

Patel started off group play going wicketless against Nepal but picked up steam against Ireland with a commanding performance of 3 for 13 against the hosts in Belfast that gave USA hope for an upset before eventually losing. Patel hardly slowed down the rest of the way, taking seven more wickets over the final four games. 

By the end of the tournament, Patel was once again USA’s leading wicket-taker with 10 scalps at an average of 14.10. In the process he passed Muhammad Ghous to become USA’s career leader in T20 wickets with 31 in just 16 games at an average of 12.19 and a strike rate of 11.84. At age 32, he still has plenty of years left to build on that total and remain an imposing figure for any opposition. 

In recognition of his achievement, Patel will receive a plaque as well as a $200 Pavillion Shop gift certificate sponsored by New Inning Foundation. 

About New Inning Foundation Cricket Awards:

Every year for six years now, DreamCricket has presented the USA Cricket awards recognizing standout performers in the prior year.  For 2016, the awards are once again being presented by the New Inning Foundation, an organization that has supported cricketing excellence since its founding in 2011.  

To be a part of the select group of players who played for USA in international competition is a remarkable achievement, the award winners are chosen as a way to pay tribute to all the hard work and sacrifices they make on the way to being America’s most valuable cricket ambassadors. 

Speaking about the awards, Ram Varadarajan, the founder and trustee of New Inning Foundation said, “Now in their sixth year, the New Inning Awards have been celebrating the passion, excellence and dedication of US cricketers. It is our duty to recognize the tremendous talent and positive contributions of the individuals who have continued to put cricket on the map in America.  In keeping with the awards tradition, we are also honoring off-field contributions in the world of cricket. Thanks to for this very thoughtful initiative."

Kranthi Bayya, CEO of said, "Presenting the USA Cricket Awards is one of the ways in which we have been giving back to the American cricket community.  Thanks again to Ram Varadarajan and his New Inning Foundation for supporting the awards from the very beginning."

Each player award will comprise of a plaque and a PavilionShop gift certificate worth $200 sponsored by New Inning Foundation.  In addition to the player awards, there will be a series of other awards to recognize significant contributions made off the field including the Shekhs Aravind Spirit of Cricket Award, the Bart King Lifetime Achievement Award, the Best USA Cricket Photo Award, the Best League Award and the Best Ground Award.   The recipients of these non-player awards will receive a plaque.

Picture Credit: Della Penna (2013)