USA Cricket Awards

2015 DreamCricket New Inning Foundation Individual Performance of the Year - Fahad Babar

2016 Oct 31 by DreamCricket USA

For the sixth consecutive year, is recognizing USA’s standout performers at the international level with the New Inning Foundation USA Cricket Awards.

Now, you can get all the USA Cricket updates via Facebook. Also follow us on Twitter via @dreamcricket

By Peter Della Penna

For the sixth consecutive year, is recognizing USA’s standout performers at the international level with the New Inning Foundation USA Cricket Awards.

The 2015 New Inning Foundation Individual Performance of the Year belongs to Fahad Babar for his 78 not out off 54 balls against Bermuda in a five-wicket win at the 2015 ICC Americas Division One Championship in Indianapolis.

The 24-year-old Chicago resident joins previous winners Lennox Cush (101 off 57 balls vs Italy in 2010 WCL Division Four Final), Mital Patel (6 for 35, including a hat-trick, vs Afghanistan U-19 at 2011 U-19 World Cup Qualifier), Aditya Mishra (62 vs Scotland at ICC World Twenty20 Qualifier) and Steven Taylor (162 in 102 balls vs Nepal 2013 WCL Division Three) and Adil Bhatti (52 not out & 3 for 29 vs Bermuda at 2014 WCL Division Three). 

Babar’s opening day performance against Bermuda set the tone for USA’s eventual second-place finish to clinch a berth at the World T20 Qualifier in Ireland. Set a total of 124 to win on a sluggish pitch, the rest of USA’s batsmen struggled against Bermuda’s experienced bowling attack. The next best score for USA was 12, highlighting Babar’s importance to the cause. 

With 30 to win off the final three overs and 19 off the last two, pressure looked to be building on the tournament hosts. However, Babar put the team on his back and carried them across the line, striking a four and two sixes off Janeiro Tucker to turn what was a tense chase into a victory for USA with an over to spare. 

In recognition of his achievement, Babar will receive a plaque as well as a $200 Pavillion Shop gift certificate sponsored by New Inning Foundation. 

About New Inning Foundation Cricket Awards:

Every year for six years now, DreamCricket has presented the USA Cricket awards recognizing standout performers in the prior year.  For 2016, the awards are once again being presented by the New Inning Foundation, an organization that has supported cricketing excellence since its founding in 2011.  

To be a part of the select group of players who played for USA in international competition is a remarkable achievement, the award winners are chosen as a way to pay tribute to all the hard work and sacrifices they make on the way to being America’s most valuable cricket ambassadors. 

Speaking about the awards, Ram Varadarajan, the founder and trustee of New Inning Foundation said, “Now in their sixth year, the New Inning Awards have been celebrating the passion, excellence and dedication of US cricketers. It is our duty to recognize the tremendous talent and positive contributions of the individuals who have continued to put cricket on the map in America.  In keeping with the awards tradition, we are also honoring off-field contributions in the world of cricket. Thanks to for this very thoughtful initiative."

Kranthi Bayya, CEO of said, "Presenting the USA Cricket Awards is one of the ways in which we have been giving back to the American cricket community.  Thanks again to Ram Varadarajan and his New Inning Foundation for supporting the awards from the very beginning."

Each player award will comprise of a plaque and a PavilionShop gift certificate worth $200 sponsored by New Inning Foundation.  In addition to the player awards, there will be a series of other awards to recognize significant contributions made off the field including the Shekhs Aravind Spirit of Cricket Award, the Bart King Lifetime Achievement Award, the Best USA Cricket Photo Award, the Best League Award and the Best Ground Award.   The recipients of these non-player awards will receive a plaque.

Picture courtesy: Peter Della Penna