Now, you can get all the USA Cricket updates via Facebook. Also follow us on Twitter via @dreamcricket
USA captain Steve Massiah has been reprimanded and warned for breaching the ICC Code of Conduct following USA's
match against Denmark in Pepsi ICC World Cricket League Division 3 (WCL
Div. 3) on Saturday 29 January 2011.
Pic (Right): Steve Massiah shows his bat to the umpire after being given LBW in match against Denmark.
Massiah pleaded guilty to the charge which was laid down by the on field umpires, Kevin Bishop and Vinay Kumar.
was given out LBW for the third time in the tournament as he mistimed a
sweep. It appeared that he hit the ball onto his pad and Massiah was
irate with the decision. His frustration boiled over as he started
yelling at the umpire Vinay Kumar while gesturing with his bat that he
had hit the ball. But USA’s captain had to walk off for 14 to make it
62 for 5. USA was bowled out for 156 in 43 overs in the match.
The sanction was imposed ICC Match
Referee Graeme La Brooy after a disciplinary hearing to establish the
seriousness of the offence under the provisions of the code.
Through his admission, Massiah was found to have breached Article 2
Section 2.1.3 of the ICC Code, which relates to "showing dissent at an
umpire's decision during an international match".
Explaining his decision, Mr La Brooy said, "I hope Mr Massiah has
learned that there is no place for this type of behaviour in the game
and that the spirit of the game should be maintained at all times. I
also trust that in future, he will be more courteous and pay others the
respect they deserve."
All Level 1 breaches carry a minimum penalty of a reprimand and a
warning and, as with other breaches at this level, the ICC Match
Referee's decision is final and binding.
[Article - Courtesy of ICC and Peter Della
Penna. Picture - Peter Della Penna/DreamCricket.com]