Live Coverage
  Live Scorecards
  Upcoming Matches
  World Cricket News
  USA Cricket News
  American Cricket History
Dreamcricket RSS
DreamCricket.com announces 2011 New Inning Foundation USA Cricket Awards
by DreamCricket USA
Dec 02, 2011

Now, you can get all the USA Cricket updates via Facebook.   Also follow us on Twitter via @dreamcricket

By Peter Della Penna

With USA’s international commitments for 2011 complete, DreamCricket.com is taking the next few weeks to unveil the second annual USA Cricket Awards presented by New Inning Foundation. The year was filled with ups and downs for USA’s national teams, but many players were able to overcome numerous challenges from opponents on the international stage to produce exceptional performances. They are being saluted once again for their outstanding efforts in representing USA.

Each award will comprise of a plaque recognizing the recipient and a gift certificate worth $250 sponsored by New Inning Foundation and DreamCricket.com. In addition to nine awards given to players, two new awards – Spirit of Cricket and Lifetime Achievement – have been established this year to recognize individuals who have made valuable contributions to the overall fabric of the cricket community in America.

Speaking at the launch of the awards, Ram Varadarajan, the founder and trustee of New Inning Foundation said, “When DreamCricket.com launched the USA Cricket Awards last year, I was the first to support the awards. The cricketers and volunteers in this country give so much of their time and resources purely for the love of cricket. The USA Cricket Awards recognize the passion, excellence, dedication and perseverance of the people that are keeping cricket alive in this country. New Inning Foundation is very happy to support the USA Cricket Awards for the second year.”

Image (right) - Ram Varadarajan, founder of New Inning Foundation

“This year, I am even more pleased because DreamCricket.com has introduced two new award categories - Spirit of Cricket and Lifetime Achievement. These are in addition to the nine awards in the player category which are awarded for on field performance when playing for the United States. I hope that through New Inning Foundation's sponsorship, the USA Cricket Awards become a permanent fixture in USA cricket firmament.”

In 2011, there were 77 players who represented USA in tournaments around the globe at the U-15, U-19, women’s and men’s senior cricket levels. All of them deserve to be commended for making it into the final playing XI for any USA team. However, in the player category, the New Inning Foundation USA Cricket Awards will honor only the best of the best from among USA’s national teams.

Image (left) - Kranthi Bayya, CEO of DreamCricket.com

“At DreamCricket.com, it is our constant quest to find meaningful ways to serve USA cricket,” Kranthi Bayya, CEO of DreamCricket.com, said. “Our media, commerce and community initiatives, all have the same aim - to assist in the development of cricket and to grow with it in the United States of America. When we introduced the USA Cricket Awards in 2010, we hoped that it would fill a void in USA cricket. Last year, we celebrated achievements by cricketers on the field. In 2011, we have added two categories - Spirit of Cricket and Lifetime Achievement. Both awards are focused on contributions to cricket in the USA. We are grateful to the New Inning Foundation for supporting these awards for the second year running.”

The following are the player categories for the 2011 New Inning Foundation USA Cricket Awards:
Newcomer of the Year
Individual Performance of the Year
Comeback Player of the Year
Twenty20 Player of the Year
Batsman of the Year
Bowler of the Year
Junior Cricketer of the Year
Women’s Cricketer of the Year
Cricketer of the Year

The awards have been decided based on a combination of factors including statistical achievement, performing under pressure and giving one’s best effort to represent USA in 2011. The players were judged on their performances in USA’s international commitments. These include:

ICC World Cricket League Division Three
ICC Americas U-19 Division One
USA U-19 vs. West Indies U-19 four-match series
ICC Americas Division One Twenty20
ICC U-19 World Cup Qualifier
Etihad Summer Cricket Festival Quadrangular Twenty20 tournament
K.A. Auty Cup
ICC Americas U-15 Northern Division
ICC Women’s World Cup Qualifier

Recent USA Stories
  USA Cricket Awards: New Inning Foundation 2015 Best USA Cricket League - Bowie Cricket
  New Inning Foundation Claude Worrell 2015 Best USA Cricket Ground - Smart Choice Moosa Stadium
  USA Cricket: USACA anticipates a potential positive outcome after talks with ICC
  2015 New Inning Foundation USA Cricket Awards: Shekhar Aravind Award for Spirit of Cricket - Nagesh Mukkamalla
  USA Cricket: ACF's Position on ICC Proposed Constitution for USA Cricket
Write to us to find out how your club or league can get the benefits of being an affiliate of the DreamCricket League platform.

DreamCricket.com runs an Academy that is an affiliate of the USA Cricket Association (USACA).
  About Us  |   Dreamcricket in the Media  |   Event Management  |   Disclaimer © 2014 DreamCricket.com