Live Coverage
  Live Scorecards
  Upcoming Matches
  World Cricket News
  USA Cricket News
  American Cricket History
Dreamcricket RSS
USA Cricket: UMBC Retrievers win ACC national cricket championship
by DreamCricket USA
May 09, 2013

Now, you can get all the USA Cricket updates via Facebook.   Also follow us on Twitter via @dreamcricket

The American College Cricket Championship between University of South Florida Bulls and University of Maryland - Baltimore County Retrievers took place at the Central Broward Regional Park Cricket Stadium in Ft Lauderdale.  USF batted first, and despite the ball keeping low, and not coming on to the bat, the high powered USF batting was expected to put up a big total.  However, it did not turn out that way.   Gurnish Singh bowled Ashgar Sheik then got Sai Ramesh lbw for ducks.  The two batsmen were USF's top two hitters.

Pic (Right): UMBC pose with the Shiv Chanderpaul Trophy [Credit: ACC]

Regionals centurion Krunal Bhange meanwhile was holding his end, but Taha Menon got 2 wickets and UMBC Captain Rikin Parikh sent back Harsha Boddepalli, lbw for 8. Boddepalli is a former USF Captain and had smashed the first American College Cricket century, 133,  back in the 2010 Nationals, but had returned as an alumni (2 are allowed in each team).

Bhange’s 32 in 36 balls and Karthik’s 21 in 28 balls took USF to 107 all out on the last ball of their 20 overs. Gurnish finished with 3 for 23, Taha Menon 2 for 20 and Parikh 2 for 14.

Some tight fielding by USF made it tough going for UMBC, despite consistent scoring by their top order, and the game came down to a thrilling finish ! Normally hard hitting Eraj Abidi got 24 with 2 fours, Anand Patel 16 & Raghav Bharadwaj made 28.

Digant Samant continued his excellent form, making 30 and appeared to be taking UMBC to victory before he was run out, making it 102 for 4, and another run out by Sai Ramesh made it 103 for 5 in the 19th over !But with Gurnish at the non-striker’s end Captain Parikh struck a 4 to seal the win, the National title, and the Shiv Chanderpaul Trophy for the University of Maryland Baltimore County.  The MVP of the Championship was Raghav Bharadwaj (UMBC) and the Finals MVP was Gurnish Singh (UMBC).

The UMBC team has begun reaping the rewards of National Champions, beginning with an appearance at the studios of TV Asia, articles in the Baltimore Sun and their University media, being honored at half-time of a college lacrosse game. and much more to come.

The 12 HD cameras of TV Asia ensured the action was spendidly captured, with slow motion replays and other graphics, as the varied voices and perspectives of Jamie Lloyd, David Sentance, Darren Stortz, Tim Shirriffs and Lloyd Jodah provided commentary.   This was the 24th American College Cricket match shown on TV Asia since Oct 2011 all over USA & Canada.  Play at the CBRP Stadium was made possible by the New Inning Foundation.  The National Championship was presented by Coca Cola with supporting sponsor Dish Network.  All 50 matches were scored by CricHQ. Chief Umpire Hubert Smythe of the ICC Americas Elite Panel officiated, with Toronto's Ashook Brijcoomar (ICC Americas Panel).

Click here for Finals Scorecard.


Recent USA Stories
  USA Cricket Awards: New Inning Foundation 2015 Best USA Cricket League - Bowie Cricket
  New Inning Foundation Claude Worrell 2015 Best USA Cricket Ground - Smart Choice Moosa Stadium
  USA Cricket: USACA anticipates a potential positive outcome after talks with ICC
  2015 New Inning Foundation USA Cricket Awards: Shekhar Aravind Award for Spirit of Cricket - Nagesh Mukkamalla
  USA Cricket: ACF's Position on ICC Proposed Constitution for USA Cricket
Write to us to find out how your club or league can get the benefits of being an affiliate of the DreamCricket League platform.

DreamCricket.com runs an Academy that is an affiliate of the USA Cricket Association (USACA).
  About Us  |   Dreamcricket in the Media  |   Event Management  |   Disclaimer © 2014 DreamCricket.com