Live Coverage
  Live Scorecards
  Upcoming Matches
  World Cricket News
  USA Cricket News
  American Cricket History
Dreamcricket RSS
USA Cricket: CW Region names Pioneers, U15 squad and U17 partial squad
by DreamCricket USA
May 29, 2014

Now, you can get all the USA Cricket updates via Facebook. Also follow us on Twitter via @dreamcricket

Young cricketers from Texas, Arkansas and Omaha showed off their batting, bowling and fielding skills as they competed for the 30 spots in the Pioneer group of the Central West Region (CWR), USACA.  The 30 players will train together over the summer of 2014.

Asif Mujtaba and Thiru Kumaran, both former international players and current youth coaches, observed the players closely in Lewisville, TX on May 24th, 2014 as part of the selection process.  Advanced cricketing skills such as swing, pace, spin in bowling; as well as defense and attack in batting were on display. 

“Formation of the Performance Group is the natural next step in our evolution”, Mr. Mujtaba stated.  “Together with the players and parents, we can form a strong youth cricket program in the region," Mr. Kumaran added. 

The Youth Coordinator for the Central West Region, Praful Mainker, thanked all parent volunteers for making the event happen.  “We are indeed very lucky that Coach Mujtaba and Coach Kumaran live in Dallas and have dedicated their lives to coaching the youth. I have no doubt that each and every member of Pioneers will make them proud," Mr. Mainkar said.  Praful also thanked United Cricket Club for providing their ground for the event, as well as North Texas Cricket Association (NTCA), for supporting the event. 

Following the announcement of their first ever Performance Group “Pioneers”, Central West Region announced squad for the upcoming U15 Nationals in Santa Clara, CA, as well as a partial squad for the U17 championship in Des Moines, IA.

The Pioneers, in alphabetical order by first name, are:  Adithya Guin, Adithya Harihara, Aditya Palacharla, Akash Chhabra, Ashwin Desai, Awais Mubarak, Ayush Todi, Chetan Reddy, Dhruv Mainker, Dhruv Sethi, Guransh Nanda, Ishaan Manohar, Jan Schueler, Karan Patel, Karthik Gatepalli, Karthik Lappathi, Keshav Pabbisetty, Kishan Das, Majjid Zubair, Manish Bhardwaj, Naman Garg, Ritvik Arora, Saad Humayun, Sagar Patel, Sam Das, Sidharth Bhat, Talha Mujtaba, Thej Bandi, Vatsal Patel and Vivek Dev Lakshminarayan.

The team for U15 National Championship to be held in late June 2014 in Santa Clara, CA, listed in alphabetical order by first name: Adithya Harihara, Awais Mubarak, Chetan Reddy, Dhruv Mainker, Guransh Nanda, Ishaan Manohar (Wicket Keeper), Jan Schueler, Karthik Gattepalli (Vice Captain), Karthik Lappathi, Keshav Pabbisetty, Majjid Zubair, Naman Garg, Saad Humayun, Thej Bandi (Captain). Reserves: Dhruv Sethi, Ritvik Arora.

A partial squad for U17 Nationals to be held in IA in late July was also named: 

The U15 and U17 squads will train as part of the Performance Group Pioneers in Dallas, TX, starting from June 7th, 2014.

Recent USA Stories
  USA Cricket Awards: New Inning Foundation 2015 Best USA Cricket League - Bowie Cricket
  New Inning Foundation Claude Worrell 2015 Best USA Cricket Ground - Smart Choice Moosa Stadium
  USA Cricket: USACA anticipates a potential positive outcome after talks with ICC
  2015 New Inning Foundation USA Cricket Awards: Shekhar Aravind Award for Spirit of Cricket - Nagesh Mukkamalla
  USA Cricket: ACF's Position on ICC Proposed Constitution for USA Cricket
Write to us to find out how your club or league can get the benefits of being an affiliate of the DreamCricket League platform.

DreamCricket.com runs an Academy that is an affiliate of the USA Cricket Association (USACA).
  About Us  |   Dreamcricket in the Media  |   Event Management  |   Disclaimer © 2014 DreamCricket.com