Member Login

ID / User Name

Forgot your password?

Don't have an ID?    Register





Commonwealth Cricket Club takes Division 2 Title

Commonwealth Cricket Club, became the Garden State cricket League’s Division 2 Champions for the 2012 season, when they defeated Dominica Cricket by 20 runs on Sunday August 19th. On a very overcast day, Dominica won the toss and invited Commonwealth to take first strike on a pitch that was slow from overnight rain. Commonwealth amassed 199 all out, with useful contributions from Glenroy Franklin, 43, David Walton 40 and Paul Brewster, who got 24. Dominica’s bowling was led by Ernie Vidal, 2 for 35, and David Hector 2 for 39. Chasing 200 for victory, Dominica lost wickets at key intervals, and at one point were struggling at 79 for 5, as Commonwealth were in full control. At this point, Peter George decided that the best form of defence was to attack, and took it to the Commonwealth bowlers. He single handedly threatened to take the game away from the boys from Cedar Brook with a swash buckling 59. In the end it was not to be, and Dominica fell short by 19 runs. Commonwealth's bowling was led by veteran Lionel Gill, 3 for 38, Orlando Hall 2 for 39 and David Walton who had a solid all-round game, 2 for 26. Congratulations are in order for Commonwealth, who with this win has been promoted to Division 1, for the 2013 season, along with regular season winners, Westfield Cricket Club.